Chapter 14

Special Education
 

Quaker Valley provides a free, appropriate public education to students with disabilities, in accordance with state and federal regulations. In Pennsylvania, the provision of special education services is governed by Chapter 14 of the Pennsylvania Department of Education. Students must be eligible for special education services, meeting the eligibility criteria of having a disability as defined by the Department of Education, and be in need of specially designed instruction. Areas of disability as set forth by Pennsylvania Department of Education include Autism, Deaf/Blindness, Visual Impairment including Blindness, Hearing Impairment including Deafness, Intellectual Disability, Multiple Disabilities, Orthopedic Impairment, Emotional Disturbance, Specific Learning Disability, Other Health Impairment, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Speech/Language Impairment.

Special educators in Quaker Valley are aware of the need to provide challenged students with an education that directly prepares them for a successful adult life. We provide opportunities for students to learn the necessary skills to pursue further education, or to obtain employment.

Preparation for the transition needs of our special education students is directed toward both the classroom for skill-based learning and the community for vocational education and life skills experience.

Chapter 14 Resources

 

Learning Support Teachers

For more information, please contact a Learning Support teacher:

Edgeworth Elementary 
Melissa Egan, Learning Support Teacher, eganm@qvsd.org
Sara Schoener, Learning Support Teacher, schoeners@qvsd.org
Amanda Madden, Life Skills Teacher, maddena@qvsd.org
Tina Proctor, Speech Therapist, proctorc@qvsd.org

Osborne Elementary
Brandon Banfield, Learning Support Teacher, banfieldb@qvsd.org
Samantha Coulter, Learning Support Teacher, coulters@qvsd.org
Allison Krause, Speech Therapist, krausea@qvsd.org

Middle School
Jenna DiLoreto, Learning Support Teacher, diloretoj@qvsd.org
Brian Slencak, Learning Support Teacher, slencakb@qvsd.org
Dr. Amy Balbach, Learning Support Teacher, balbacha@qvsd.org
Jason Harrison, Life Skills Teacher, harrisonj@qvsd.org

High School
Jessica Garavaglia, Learning Support Teacher, garavagliaj@qvsd.org
Brad Severson, Learning Support Teacher, seversonb@qvsd.org
Heather Barto, Learning Support Teacher, bartoh@qvsd.org
Kim Dorus, Learning Support Teacher, dorusk@qvsd.org
Julie Lebovitz, Learning Support Teacher, lebovitzj@qvsd.org
Jason Brindza, Life Skills Teacher, brindzaj@qvsd.org

District Special Education Plan Available for Review

Quaker Valley School District's Special Education Plan is available below for public review.

Questions or comments may be directed to Mike Lewis, Director of Student Services, at 412-749-3618 or via email.