Activities and Clubs » High School National Honor Society » National Honor Society

National Honor Society

Sponsor: Julie Lebovitz
412-749-5557 x2315

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of Scholarship, Leadership, Service, and Character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921. For more information, please visit the National Honor Society Website.

Induction into the Quaker Valley High School National Honor Society takes place in the fall. Juniors and Seniors with a cumulative grade point average over 3.5 are eligible to apply to NHS. Those students will receive an email with instructions regarding the application process. Students are given two weeks to complete the application. A panel of teachers convenes to review the applications and to determine if the student meets the standards set out by the National Honor Society and Quaker Valley High School.

Invitations to apply for acceptance into the National Honor Society for the 2018-19 school year were emailed to eligible candidates on Friday, September 21, 2018. Completed applications are due on Friday October 5, 2018 by 11:59 pm. Late applications will not be accepted. The Induction Ceremony will be held in the evening on Monday, November 5, 2018.

Induction Ceremony

The Induction Ceremony for the Quaker Valley Chapter of the National Honor Society will be held on Monday, November 5, 2018 at 7:00 p.m. in the high school auditorium. Light refreshments will be served following the ceremony.

The Quaker Valley High School National Honor Society inducted 44 new members on Monday, November 5, 2018. The following senior students hold leadership positions in NHS for the 2018-2019 year:

Gabriella Saladino- President
Nolan Carver-Vice President
Rosa Myers-Treasurer
Olivia McMullan-Secretary

Congratulations to the newly inducted seniors and juniors :

2018-2019 Members


William Andrews

Pierce Diggins

Hadley Driscoll

Benjamin Falk

Evan Frund

Katherine Gonzalez

Mathilda Gould

JohnRocco Kazalas

Trent Kozar

Dominic Lagnese

Mei Reitmeyer

Lia Warburton

Kathryn Wetzel


Elena Ashburn

Hannah Ashburn

John Auth

Christopher Barefoot

Alessia Burns

Trevor Edwards (Rees)

Daniel Ford

Phillip Gagne

Liam Gallagher

Baze Gianiodis

Rebecca Graham

Emma Grubb

Thomas Guild

Fisher Hemwall

KC Johns

Carol Krebs

Maya Kumar

Isaac Lang

Paige Lenhardt

Jenna McCracken

Phoebe Morrill

Kaelyn Morrow

Alex Murray

Paul Szuba

Jillian Umstead

Tarun Venkatasmy

Madeline Volchko

John Weir

Elizabeth Wiehe

Anne Wicker

Griffin Wirth